24 hoursA most glorious Easter season to all!

I recently purchased and received the book “The Hours of the Passion of Our Lord Jesus Christ” written by The Servant of God Luisa Piccarreta, the Little Daughter of the Divine Will.  In this book we are called to meditate on the twenty-four hours of Jesus’ Passion hour by hour.

I’m not sure exactly if meditating is the same as reading and thinking about what I’ve just read, but that is what I did, wanting to be complete the Hours at least once before the Easter Triduum which begins Holy Thursday.  It’s so heartbreaking to know how much our poor Jesus suffered for each of us during these twenty-four hours.

As a reminder to myself and in case anyone is interested, the Passion Hours, time, and description are listed below.  The Seven Words Jesus spoke during his three hours on the Cross follow the Hours.

The Hours of Jesus’ Passion

1st           5:00 p.m.             Jesus takes leave of His Most Holy Mother
2nd           6:00 p.m.             Jesus leaves for the Supper Room
3rd           7:00 p.m.             The Legal Supper
4th           8:00 p.m.             The Eucharistic Supper
5th           9:00 p.m.             Agony in the Garden of Gethsemani, 1st Hour
6th           10:00 p.m.           Agony in the Garden, 2nd Hour
7th           11:00 p.m.           Agony in the Garden, 3rd Hour
8th           12:00 a.m.           Jesus is Arrested
9th           1:00 a.m.              Jesus falls in the Cedron Stream
10th         2:00 a.m.              Jesus is presented to Annas
11th         3:00 a.m.              Jesus in the house of Caiphas
12th         4:00 a.m.              Jesus in the midst of the soldiers
13th         5:00 a.m.              Jesus in prison
14th         6:00 a.m.              Jesus again before Caiphas and then brought before Pilate
15th         7:00 a.m.              Jesus before Pilate and then sent to Herod
16th         8:00 a.m.              Jesus returns to Pilate, Barabbas is released; the Scourging
17th         9:00 a.m.              Jesus is crowned with thorns and condemned to death
18th         10:00 a.m.           Jesus takes up the Cross
19th         11:00 a.m.           The Crucifixion
20th         12:00 p.m.           Agony on the Cross, 1st Hour; Jesus’ 1st Word
21st         1:00 p.m.             Agony on the Cross, 2nd Hour; Jesus’ 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Words
22nd        2:00 p.m.             Agony on the Cross, 3rd Hour; Jesus’ 5th, 6th, and 7th Words
23rd        3:00 p.m.             Jesus dies; his Sacred Heart is pierced with the lance
24th        4:00 p.m.             Jesus is buried

Jesus’ Seven Words From the Cross

1st Word: “Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.”
2nd Word: “Today you will be with me in Paradise.”
3rd Word: “Woman, behold your son.” “Behold your Mother.”
4th Word: “My God, my God, why have you abandoned Me?”
5th Word: “I thirst.”
6th Word: “All is consummated.”
7th Word: “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.”


Should you want to buy the book, it is available on Amazon or the Divine Will website.


Comments are closed.